The residents of Waldo, Wisconsin, are fortunate to have had the history of their community recorded and preserved for posterity.
The village was originally established as Lyndon Station in the Onion River Settlement when the Milwaukee and Northern Railway Company laid their railroad tracks through in 1871. The village was platted in 1873 by N.C. Harmon on 80 acres of land that he and his son-in-law had purchased from Abraham Lawson. When it was discovered that there already was an existing Lyndon Station in Juneau County, Wisconsin, it was decided to rename the village after Otis Harvey Waldo, Sr., a prominent Milwaukee attorney and president of the railroad. In 1923, Waldo, Wisconsin, became an incorporated village and the Onion River Settlement ceased to exist.
Over the past 100 years, Waldo has seen many changes. Follow along on this journey as we explore Waldo’s past.